The Commander Tavern - Oubliette was NOT reprinted in Double Masters | Barkeep Upkeep [S01E09]

Greetings, everyone! Welcome to The Commander Tavern! I am Demented Kirby and this is the 9th episode of one of the series on this channel, Barkeep Upkeep. This series hopes to open the floor up for discussion by using the comments section as a sort of forum for people to discuss the topics I discuss within. By no means do I expect these videos to be dogmatic; they're meant to be pragmatic. So I invite everyone to join in on the discussion in the comments and add your own opinions on the matter! You can also tweet me @CommanderTavern.

This episode is meant to be my analysis on the radical change Oubliette went through via its upcoming "reprint" in Double Masters. Granted, this errata seems similar to the original intention of the card, but it spent more time being similar to Journey to Nowhere than having phasing with its first Oracle update. I feel like my analysis might be jarring and potentially controversial, but it's not unfounded. This "cleaner" update changes A LOT of what the card used to do, and that's what this video is about.

Does the new and improved Oubliette still have uses? Of course it does. It can be used to get rid of a commander, bypassing the commander state-based action zone changing rule. But what do you think? What do you feel about this sea change for Oubliette? Let me know in the comments!

You can also communicate with me via the usual methods:


TCGPlayer affiliate link:

BGM Credits:
Pippin the Hunchback Kevin MacLeod (
Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License

Your benevolent EDH overlords, bringing you top quality content from around the multiverse.